Posted in Middle School

Monday Middle School Madness

It’s only Monday and:

A parent was waiting for me when I came in to work

There was a referral in my box and another handed to me by 8:15am (for the same kid)

The “same kid” was with me more than half the school day

The “same kid” has in school suspension tomorrow

I had to call the “same kid’s” dad

The parent who was waiting for me in the morning came back to school without warning so his daughter could see her dog

His daughter didn’t have her uniform shirt or appropriate shorts on today

I gave his daughter a shirt to borrow, which she wore

The Vice Principal gave her shorts to borrow which she wouldn’t wear

She snuck in the health room to call her Mom for permission to go home and change

Mom gave her permission

(Mom and Dad don’t get along)

It took her an hour and a half to come back, and when she did come back, she came with fast food for her younger brother and a handful of other students

The shirt I let her borrow had to come home with me today so I could wash it

I had to text a parent whose phone doesn’t allow voice mails because her son was nauseous

She finally called back after two hours and wouldn’t let him go home

He almost walked off campus, but let me coax him back after talking at the fence in the hot sun for 15 minutes

A student misled me

A student thanked me

I have three students I can’t even get to come to school

I wore my pajamas to school today

It’s SPIRIT WEEK, and today was Pajama Day (ha ha)

It’s the last week of first quarter

And three days away from the first school dance

And four days away from a one-week break

I think I’m pretty ready for that one-week break!

Author:

I am a daughter, sister, wife, mother, friend, middle school counselor, a music and animal lover, a mac-preferer and a work in progress. I haven't had enough sleep in six years, but my life is one heck of a ride - care to join me on my adventures?

Leave a Reply

