Posted in parenting

My Birthday Resolution (Part 1)

So this year on my birthday I came up with a wonderful idea.  I would buy three boxes – one for each of the kiddies.  Every year around my birthday I would write a letter to each of them – with a picture and little tidbits about them, our lives and maybe even the world around us.  I know this idea is probably not original, but I like it anyway…just like the name of my blog, ha ha ha.  But anyway, I thought I could share a little…for fun, and so you all can meet my kids – I think they’re pretty great!

Dear Trista,

It’s 2010 and you are 6 years old.  You are a 1st grader in Mrs. Otani’s class – she’s very strict, and you have been having some “issues.”  You are fiercely righteous and sometimes get yourself into trouble when you try to take things into your own hands.  Although I reprimand you and we discuss choices and consequences, your Dad and I are proud that you stand up for yourself and others.  I hope you learn to balance it all out.  When you grow up you (still) want to be a “cowgirl who fixes people’s houses.”  You’ve wanted to be this since Preschool, although lately you’ve started talking about being a doctor, too.  You also want to be on American Idol AND So You Think You Can Dance.  You still make up songs and sing all the time, and you’re learning how to play ukulele and you go to hula once a week.

You are a messy eater, and we think it’s because you got used to eating from the side of your mouth when you lost your front teeth.  You’re still doing it and your front teeth are definitely in.  You are kinda messy, period.  You just leave a trail of toys/clothes/pens/food wherever you go.  It drives your Dad crazy.  You are blessed with the gift of stubbornness – I tell people that you have all of me and your Dad’s stubbornness wrapped up in your six-year-old self.  This drives me crazy – you and I both like to have the last word.  I need to work on this.

I chose this picture because it’s one of my favorite “faces of Trista.”  Your baby brother is 7 months old and you adore him in a way that makes my heart swell.  You make “faces” at him and it cracks him up – every time, no matter what.  You are the thing that always makes him happy.  You are a wonderful big sister – and it’s so nice to have your help with him.  I love your sweet and generous heart for your sister and brother and I hope that the three of you will stay close as the years pass.

Good night my sweet Trista Belle, may you (and pink pillow) sleep well.

Author:

I am a daughter, sister, wife, mother, friend, middle school counselor, a music and animal lover, a mac-preferer and a work in progress. I haven't had enough sleep in six years, but my life is one heck of a ride - care to join me on my adventures?

4 thoughts on “My Birthday Resolution (Part 1)

    1. You should! Just think of how cool it will be later when our kids have all these “snapshots” of themselves…I just think it would be an awesome keepsake. 🙂

      P.S. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

