Posted in parenting

My Birthday Resolution (Part 2)

**This is a continuation of My Birthday Resolution (Part 1).  You might want to read that first for some background, if you like background, that is.

Dear Robina,

The year is 2010 and you are 4 years old and in your second year in preschool.  Your teachers are Ms. Cyndy and Ms. Katy – Ms. Katy took over for Mrs. Geer (who was Trista’s teacher) who had her first baby.  This is a rare picture of you.  You are going through a stage where when you see the camera you (a) make a goofy-toothy smile, (b) pose for a split second and then quickly move on to another activity resulting in a blur of Robi, or (c) go on about your activities without care or attention to the camera and photographer.  That being said, this picture is from our summer camping trip.  You are sitting with your little legs crossed watching your cousins and Daddy fooling around which you think is quite funny, hence the perfect Robina smile.  I wonder how long you’ll last in this funny-photo stage.

You are possibly the sweetest and most sensitive children I have ever met.  You are absolutely in tune with how others feel, especially me.  You immediately read my emotions and work hard to try to change my mood when I’m upset.  You are slightly irresistible and usually are able to snap me out of a rotten mood pretty quickly.  I call you my “Jasper.”  It’s a Twilight reference.  If you haven’t read this series, please go see if you can find it  – you’ll enjoy it.  I really do.  The author is Stephanie Meyer.  You love reading, in fact you’ve been carrying around books for people to read to you since you were able to walk.  There’s a book at school you love so much (Ruby the Copycat) one of the afterschool teachers purchased the book for you.  There’s you and that charm again.  You are absolutely irresistible.

You love school – your friends, chapel, your teachers, recess, learning, but school has been hard.  You have been on anti-seizure meds for over a year now (you had two seizures in May/June 2009 and have been diagnosed as epileptic) and we’re not sure what struggles are related to the side effects of the meds and what’s just you.  You are having a particularly hard time with fine motor skills, but I’m working hard with you and the doctors to figure it out.  Just for the record, please know that your Dad and I agonize over every medical decision that needs making (for you and your siblings) and we are hopeful that our decisions are the right ones.  It’s been a long year of EEGs, an MRI and lots and lots of questions.  Whatever becomes of all of this, I love you, and I’ll always be right there with you fighting to figure it out.

You are a pink and purple loving, locks of love donating, Care Bear crazy, Tinker Bell and Hello Kitty kinda girl.  You will do just about anything for chocolate milk, chocolate raisins and/or candy corn.  You are my Robi-Robes, Robilicious, Robilani, sparkly-land sweetheart, and I love you just the way you are.

Author:

I am a daughter, sister, wife, mother, friend, middle school counselor, a music and animal lover, a mac-preferer and a work in progress. I haven't had enough sleep in six years, but my life is one heck of a ride - care to join me on my adventures?

One thought on “My Birthday Resolution (Part 2)

Leave a Reply

