Posted in Uncategorized

My Birthday Resolution (Part 3)

Check out Part 1 for some background and Part 2 if you’re cool like that!

Dear Robert,

Look at you, my sweet baby! You are seven and a half months old today. What a wonderful addition to our family you have been – a genuinely sweet, good baby…and finally, our baby boy – named after your Daddy and Papa. You really do complete our family. I know it’s very cliche, but I’m serious. You were what we needed to fill our already happy lives. You are the perfect type of baby to be the youngest in our family. Very cheerful, snuggly, you love to interact with others, and you love being kissed/hugged/carried by anyone who is willing. At this moment in time, I would say that Trista is probably your favorite person – she can get you cracking up by doing almost nothing…a word, a face, anything. She’s got a way with you and you just adore her, as she adores you. It’s not that you don’t enjoy Robi, me or your Dad, but Trista gives you special attention and because of it, you two have a very special bond. It’s really nice to watch.

This week you suffered your first “real” illness and fever. It was terribly sad. You needed to be within arms reach of me, and if I ventured further, you’d cry. While next to you, you basically just wanted to lean your little head on me or hold my hand. You are feeling much better now, but not 100% just yet. I’m sure it’s just a matter of days.

You are just on the verge of crawling. You get on your hands and knees and rock and rock, but you haven’t coordinated your movements yet. Maybe this weekend? During the weekdays when your Dad and I are at work you spend time with Aunty Beth, who loves you almost as much as we do. She spoils you a lot and when I kept you home sick this week she texted me a few times checking on you because she missed you terribly.

I am realizing that I could go on and on, but I’ll stop for now. I am so excited to see how you will grow and change over the next year. I am so lucky that you came into our lives – I love you my sweet baby boy!

Author:

I am a daughter, sister, wife, mother, friend, middle school counselor, a music and animal lover, a mac-preferer and a work in progress. I haven't had enough sleep in six years, but my life is one heck of a ride - care to join me on my adventures?

Leave a Reply

