Posted in personal

Missing in Action

Hello bloggy world!  Happy Holidays, Happy 2011, Happy middle of January!  I know, I’ve been missing in action – here in blogland, anyway.  I’m not sure why, but I am compelled to tell you where I’ve been and why I haven’t been blogging in an attempt to get you to give my blog another chance.  Please?  Just hear me out.  I know one of the blogging rules is to make sure you blog often, preferably daily.  But rules are meant to be broken, or at least that’s what I hear.

Sick.

We were all sick.  As crazy as it sounds, I wasn’t ever really all that sick as far as severity is concerned (I credit my magical neti pot), but I still have some residual cough hangin on to remind me of our ordeal.  It started with Robi and big Robert, aka Daddy.  Robi had a fever and needed to stay home, Robert wasn’t feeling too well either (I think he had a fever, too), so they stayed home and slept all day.  Trista had the congestion, but not the fever.  Baby Robert, aka Robby D, ended up with the whole shebang.  And in our home it stayed.  Not lysol, not fresh air, not chicken soup, not vitamin C, not neti pots and saline drops could completely rid our house of the evil germs.  After a week + of no improvement with Robi I insisted that the doctor see her.  Good thing, too – she had pneumonia.  And as crazy as it sounds, I’m glad we found out, because only after that (and some crazy-strong antibiotics) did our family start to recover.

Loss.

Sadly, and in the middle of the sickfest going on in our house, we lost our pet bird, Zeke.  It was horrible.  Everyone had been sick, so Zeke, our 12 year-old Eclectus Parrot, had been getting the bare essentials in attention.  Fresh food and water, morning and evening greetings, but not the usually trips out of his cage to his play perch or bonus snacks of fruits and treats.  It was Monday morning and I was trying to get everyone out of the house and I was brushing Trista’s hair near his cage.  “Kriss…Kriss..Kriss” I hear in a soft and softening voice.  And then Zeke fell off his perch, unable to stand or walk.  Despite rushing him to our avian vet and being hospitalized, he died early the next morning.  The girls and Robert seem to have moved forward after our burial ceremony…I’m still grieving.  I’m still looking for him, waiting to hear him call my name…I miss him.

Career Fair.

I’m responsible for our middle school’s annual Career Fair.  It was held on December 16th and was great.  However, the planning and chaos that leads up to this day are taxing and stressful.  It’s a wonder my family doesn’t kick me out when I’m in Career Fair mode…late nights, coffee, grouchy mommy, coffee, papers all over, coffee, ticket cutting, coffee, the scramble boards, coffee.  And then I seem to fall asleep right after dinner for the week following in an attempt to get back lost sleep.  But, thankfully, my family loves me and I survived.  The main problem this year was that since I changed the date from February to December (to accommodate our testing schedule) I did not get to make my colleagues their holiday treats.  I’m still trying to figure out when and how I’m gonna make up for that, but we’ll talk about that another day!

Holidays.

Well, what can I say about the holidays?  Thanksgiving.  Christmas.  New Year’s.  It was crazy, happy, magical, memorable, stressful, exhausting, messy and I wouldn’t trade it for anything else in the world.  I am so thankful to have my family to share this time with.  And the crab…remind me to tell you all about the crab.  But not now, because I’ll get hungry for crab and I probably will be waiting until next New Year’s for crab, and well – that’s a long time.  So anyway, I love the holidays, I love my family and I love crab.  But not in that order.

Honorable Mentions (aka Things I might blog about later):

Our babysitter went on vacation for a week and a half, I became Nationally Certified, I got my name in the newspaper (yikes, don’t read the online comments), we had family pictures taken by a professional photographer, Rita Coury (she rocks!), my baby boy turned 10 months old, my 2-weeks of vacation flew by in half a second, we had our first non-family party at our house and most recently, I got in my first car accident.

TTFN, sorry I’ve been gone.

Author:

I am a daughter, sister, wife, mother, friend, middle school counselor, a music and animal lover, a mac-preferer and a work in progress. I haven't had enough sleep in six years, but my life is one heck of a ride - care to join me on my adventures?

Leave a Reply

