Posted in parenting

Not tired.

How is it possible that my kids are never tired?  Well, let me rephrase that – they never admit that they’re tired, unless of course being tired gets them out of something unpleasant.  Like homework.  Or cleaning up.  Or brushing and flossing their teeth.

Robina is my favorite because of how she emphatically reminds me that she does not need to sleep.  It’s always the same response: “…but me not TIE-YAD, Mom.”  I laugh every time she tells me this.  I know I shouldn’t, but it’s so darn FUNNY.  I’ll have to try to record it for you all to experience.

Tonight, however, Mr. Robby D is the “not tired” star.  He took two descent naps today, but he’s wide awake and it’s after 10pm.  This is a bad sign.  The latest he’s ever up is 8pm.  Not tonight – he cruising around the living room, throwing plastic balls at his mother’s head, knocking down his sister’s tea set, throwing his other sister’s Zhu Zhu’s, opening gates meant to restrict him, knocking over chair cushions, threatening folded laundry, trying to chew on the vacuum cord and melting my heart with his sweet little face and silly baby chatter.

*sigh*  It looks like I’ll be camping out on the living room floor tonight since someone is so “not tired.

Author:

I am a daughter, sister, wife, mother, friend, middle school counselor, a music and animal lover, a mac-preferer and a work in progress. I haven't had enough sleep in six years, but my life is one heck of a ride - care to join me on my adventures?

Leave a Reply

