Posted in parenting

Things My Baby Must Believe # 1: Life is a Musical

My husband and I often laugh about what our baby, Robby D must believe about the world based on his experiences.  His “experiences” are known mostly by their legal names – Trista and Robina, the big sisters.  Trista and Robi themselves crack us up, but watching Robby D interacting with them puts a whole new spin on things if you know what I mean.  Take for example…

Robby D must believe that life is a musical.

 

We love music.  My husband has an incredible voice, he can play multiple musical instruments and our iPods are stacked with more songs than we could ever get through.  BUT none of those things influence the spontaneous singing while playing/eating/bathing/bathrooming/dressing/ect. that happens in my house.   I mean who sings while they’re using the bathroom?!?  I can tell you who – Trista.  She’s the brains behind most of the playing in the house, aka the “boss,” and she can turn anything into a song.  It’s really her special talent, and she’s been doing it since she was a baby – before she could even talk she was singing.  But what I’m talking about is more than just her random singing, it’s singing as part of finely orchestrated playtime.  It’s like the movie “Enchanted” in real life.

Here’s the scene: several My Little Ponies are positioned all over the living room, one is in peril – dangling by her tail near the TV.  The other ponies must join forces and use Robby D’s walker to travel to where periled pony is trapped and rescue her.  Now the singing starts…”Come on sisters…come on friends…we must save so-and-so…her life can’t end!  Jump in our race car…jump in now…we must get there…some way, some how!”  And somehow as this magical song spills effortlessly from Trista’s mouth, Robi instinctually sings along and Robby D bobs and happily pushes his walker magically transporting the ponies to their rescue location.

I guess you have to see it to believe it.  Come over and watch sometime (Trista gets silly when she’s being recorded). Hmmm,  I wonder if our baby will be disappointed when he realizes that the world is not set to music all the time.  Oh well, in our house I guess it can be. Rock on kids, rock on.

Author:

I am a daughter, sister, wife, mother, friend, middle school counselor, a music and animal lover, a mac-preferer and a work in progress. I haven't had enough sleep in six years, but my life is one heck of a ride - care to join me on my adventures?

Leave a Reply

