Posted in parenting, personal, Uncategorized

Mammanoia

I have a new Kristin word to be added to my dictionary of made up, but totally cool and usable words: “Mammanoia.”

Mammanoia (n) – \ma-ma-noya\:  A condition of being plagued by exaggerated and sometimes unjustified worries concerning ones’ offspring, loved ones or other caretakees; often characterized by nervous behaviors like hovering, nail-biting, distractibility, and spontaneous grey hair growth.  Typically afflicts mothers and mother-figures, but has been seen in fathers, grandparents, aunties, uncles, siblings and school staff.

I suffer from mammanoia and have been for a long time, well before I became a mother.

These two boys I grew up with taught me a lot about worry and love and care.  Oh, sorry, they’re not boys anymore.  But I still worry.  And they are my “little” brothers in case you couldn’t tell. (You can stop laughing now)

Now my mammanoia has multiplied, exponentially.  I’m mammanoied about a lot.  Too much, I’m sure.  I’m mammanoied about my mothering choices, about school and learning, about the health of me and my family, about money, about life  – just to name a few things.  And now I am mammanoied about this tsunami warning we’re under.

Guess what?  A little over a year ago, I was stuck in a hospital room, separated from 3 of my immediate family members because of a tsunami warning.  This time we’re all together.  I’m praying that’s the only thing different about the tsunami this time around.  I’d like so much to wake up to reports of nothing more than some atypical ocean surges.

Stay safe Hawai’i.  Quick recovery Japan.  I’m working on a cure for mammanoia.

Author:

I am a daughter, sister, wife, mother, friend, middle school counselor, a music and animal lover, a mac-preferer and a work in progress. I haven't had enough sleep in six years, but my life is one heck of a ride - care to join me on my adventures?

One thought on “Mammanoia

Leave a Reply

