Posted in personal

Ten Day You Challenge: Eight Fears

This number of the challenge is true to its name.  I’m FEARFUL to even allow myself to think too much about all that I fear.  I know I could have gone the “easy” way, and listed spiders and centipedes and big giant cockroaches, but I wanted to really challenge myself to dig a little deeper.  I’m uncomfortable, though.  It makes me feel more vulnerable.  So, please be kind when you read…I usually try to hide these away:

1.  I fear that every year of school for my younger girl is going to be as challenging as this one has been.

2.  I fear that my parenting choices aren’t “right.”  That I’ll fail my children.

3.  I fear that I’m not doing enough to show my husband how much I love and appreciate him…that I’m not a “good wife.”

4.  I fear illness and injury, specifically with regard to my family.

5.  I fear that my children will grow up not really knowing my family.

6.  I fear job loss/financial crisis.

7.  I fear for my students – they have so many needs, and end up in some scary situations.  I don’t want them to be hurt or hurt themselves.

8.  I fear my fears…I am a worrier, and sometimes I think I’m just on the brink of letting my worries get the best of me.

“Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear, not absence of fear.”
Mark Twain

Author:

I am a daughter, sister, wife, mother, friend, middle school counselor, a music and animal lover, a mac-preferer and a work in progress. I haven't had enough sleep in six years, but my life is one heck of a ride - care to join me on my adventures?

2 thoughts on “Ten Day You Challenge: Eight Fears

  1. Time to put those fears to rest and be grateful for every little success maybe? Just a suggestion from a Twitter friend who is trying to stop fearing since all those fears aren’t working out too well, and I know there are successes even if I sometimes have to look hard.

Leave a Reply

