Posted in personal

Rude Awakening

Our 2012-2013 school year started three weeks ago and it’s been a different vibe. I’m used to feeling energized and excited, light and happy. However, more of a heavy vibe has settled in. I thought at first that it was due mostly to the personal losses our school has suffered. Now I see it’s much more.

Today I saw a dear friend in the late afternoon. His son is an 8th grader – a really great young man. My friend told me that he asked his son about me…and that his son said he sees me, but doesn’t say hello because I always look mad, and he doesn’t want to bother me.

Ouch.

I told my friend to tell his son to please say hello anyway – to help remind me of why I became a counselor to begin with. I hope he does. Mostly because he’s right: I have been mad. Mad at a small group of kids who are out of control and have been since last year. The legal system has been slow, and the result is four kids who believe they are invinsible. But I’m also mad at a couple of adults who aren’t able to be professional / think rationally / function with an ounce of common sense. Fingers are pointing and rumors are spreading, and it just pisses me off.

But I can’t control it all, and I need to remember my audience. All the good kids and good grown ups…they are watching, too. And I need them to see me being me, mostly happy and slightly crazy me. And I will try harder…after this much needed three day weekend.

Thank you for the message, Kale. I obviously needed it.

Author:

I am a daughter, sister, wife, mother, friend, middle school counselor, a music and animal lover, a mac-preferer and a work in progress. I haven't had enough sleep in six years, but my life is one heck of a ride - care to join me on my adventures?

4 thoughts on “Rude Awakening

  1. Wow, kris you are da bomb mom and counselor and I am always going to you guys, no worries mama you are the bomb, just the way life is these days, im going crazy not being there, but I cant anymore. Love to the ohana and I understand and love u .

  2. You sound like the perfect candidate for the PBS committee!;) I see you almost every day, and have never thought you looked too mad for me to say “hi”. However, I do think so much craziness is going on that many of us have been trying to smile through frustration and helplessness. Please know that you are not alone and that you are loved and admired greatly. I personally, think “Superwoman” whenever I see you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

