Posted in Middle School, parenting, personal

Project Purple, Day 4


photo-4

Today my “fact” that I posted on my door is really more of a why:

“Mrs. Silva has a child with Epilepsy”

Working at a middle school leads to a lot of “why’s” in nearly every conversation I have, so it’s really no wonder that many who stopped by to read my door were wondering why I was being so purple-y.  I was surprised by a lot of things after posting my fact this morning.  Surprised that people I consider myself to be close to didn’t know my daughter has Epilepsy, and even more surprised at how many students wanted to talk about it.  That’s the cool part, though – the talking.  The more we talk about this mysterious condition that is so personally relevant to me, the more walls I break down.  The more knowledgeable people will be.  And hopefully, less judgemental and fearful people will be the next time they hear the word Epilepsy.

I wonder how many readers have a why…I’ve gained new blog followers since I started my Project Purple.  Care to share?  Let’s “talk,” leave me a comment!

Author:

I am a daughter, sister, wife, mother, friend, middle school counselor, a music and animal lover, a mac-preferer and a work in progress. I haven't had enough sleep in six years, but my life is one heck of a ride - care to join me on my adventures?

Leave a Reply

