Posted in parenting, personal

Project Purple, Day 7

20131107-215144.jpg

Right now, I’m feeling lucky. This is a statistic my family falls happily within at the moment (knock on wood). My daughter has been seizure free with her current medicine (Depakote Sprinkles) for 2 years and 7 months, and my husband’s seizures stopped after brain surgery (there’s a blog post!). I have a lot to be thankful for. And lots to worry about. My daughter does have some struggles in school with fine motor skills and speech. I have this fantasy that if she’s ever weaned off her meds that all those things disappear. But at the same time I have a reoccurring nightmare that the challenges could be forever. I choose to hope for the best, but I can’t lie…it’s there, contributing to my mamanoia.

But anyway, hooray for today and the many, many people who are able to manage their epilepsy and live happy, fulfilled lives. One day at a time. And keep on hoping!

Author:

I am a daughter, sister, wife, mother, friend, middle school counselor, a music and animal lover, a mac-preferer and a work in progress. I haven't had enough sleep in six years, but my life is one heck of a ride - care to join me on my adventures?

Leave a Reply

