Posted in parenting, personal

Project Purple, Day 9

Epilepsy can be caused by many different conditions that affect a person’s brain (like a stroke or brain tumor) but often no definite cause can be found.

I am an unwilling recovering control freak.  I say unwilling, because to be completely honest, I would much rather continue to control the things that I feel need controlling (i.e. almost everything) than give in to life’s roller coaster.  Enter my three children.  My eldest started to challenge control before she was even born – insisting on arriving three weeks early and completely rocking my world.  I have to say, the loss of control got worse with every child…and although I still can recognize that most of my daily irritations arise from me trying to control something I can’t, I choose to believe that I’ve gotten a little better at rolling with the punches.

The Epilepsy fact I’m sharing today is probably the most problematic for me.  I don’t know WHY my daughter has epilepsy.  I don’t know HOW LONG she will have it.  I don’t know if the physical challenges she has are a SIDE EFFECT of her medication, a RESULT of damage from one of her seizures, or something she would have struggled with even if she never, ever had a seizure or a diagnosis of Epilepsy.  There is no cure, no promises, no control.  It makes me feel incredibly helpless, sometimes angry, and mostly anxious.

With that said, I am inherently an optimist.  So I am hopeful – for my daughter and everyone who has/had/will have epilepsy because I have seen an epilepsy-related miracle.  The miracle I witnessed has names – Dr. Alan Stein and Dr. Alfred Bowles – an amazing Neurologist and Neurosurgeon that paired up and gave my husband a seizure-free “do-over” in life.  So in the spirit of optimism, I raise my half-full glass and say, here’s to  a future of miracles.

11.9

Author:

I am a daughter, sister, wife, mother, friend, middle school counselor, a music and animal lover, a mac-preferer and a work in progress. I haven't had enough sleep in six years, but my life is one heck of a ride - care to join me on my adventures?

Leave a Reply

