Posted in parenting, personal

Project Purple, Day 21

Epilepsy is the third most common neurological disorder in the US after Alzheimer’s disease and stroke.

This is another one of those facts that really surprises me. Sadly, I feel like talk of stroke or older family members with Alzheimer’s is very common. Yet I cannot think of EVER hearing a conversation about epilepsy. Yet, this fact tells us the prevalence is there. I am curious about this – I wonder if perhaps people with epilepsy just hide themselves from the world for fear of negative repercussions, where stroke and Alzheimer’s typically bring sympathy and compassion. Things that make you go, huh. I guess we all have to start somewhere…who do you know with epilepsy? Based on the numbers, it’s likely that you know someone…

20131121-214533.jpg

Author:

I am a daughter, sister, wife, mother, friend, middle school counselor, a music and animal lover, a mac-preferer and a work in progress. I haven't had enough sleep in six years, but my life is one heck of a ride - care to join me on my adventures?

Leave a Reply

