Posted in parenting, personal

Project Purple, Day 22

A special diet called the Ketogenic diet can help some people with Epilepsy control their seizures.  The diet is a special high-fat, low-carbohydrate diet that must be prescribed by a doctor and monitored by a Dietician.

I am fortunate that my daughter’s seizures are currently being controlled by her medication and changing her diet has not been a consideration. Much the way that starting medication was overwhelming and scary before we started (who am I kidding? It’s still overwhelming and scary), I imagine that changing to this diet must be quite challenging for the patients and families. Have any of you had experience with the Ketogenic diet?

20131122-211933.jpg

Author:

I am a daughter, sister, wife, mother, friend, middle school counselor, a music and animal lover, a mac-preferer and a work in progress. I haven't had enough sleep in six years, but my life is one heck of a ride - care to join me on my adventures?

Leave a Reply

